About Territorial Self-Government

Samorząd Terytorialny [Territorial Self-Government] monthly, established in 1991 on the initiative of Prof. Michał Kulesza (who was the chief editor until he passed away in 2013), is an interdisciplinary academic and professional journal. The journal addresses, describes, and analyses various, especially legal, organizational, economic, social, and political aspects of local and regional self-government in Poland and abroad, treating territorial self-government as an embodiment of the constitutional principle of subsidiarity, as well as local and regional democracy, the fundamental form of decentralization of public administration.

The author receives 40 points for a publication in Territorial Self-Government (according to the Annex to the Communication of the Minister of Education and Science of 1 December 2021, regarding the list of academic journals and reviewed materials from international conferences, issued on the basis of Article 267(3) of the Act on Higher Education and Science of 20 July 2018, Polish Journal of Laws [Dziennik Ustaw], consolidated text: 2021, item 478, as amended).

The journal is included in the international European Reference Index for the Humanities and Social Sciences (ERIH+) database.

Ethical principles
Ethical principles concerning publications in academic journals, Ethical principles for authors, Responsibilities of the editorial board, Responsibilities of reviewers.

Zasady zgłaszania
Conditions for accepting articles for publication

Editorial Team

Editorial Board


ORCID: 0000-0002-3390-4167

Professor at SWPS University of Social Sciences and Humanities, director of the Institute of Law; retired professor at the University of Warsaw, Faculty of Law and Administration.

Deputy editor-in-chief


Postdoctoral degree holder in legal sciences, professor at the Cracow University of Economics, solicitor, member of the Association of Polish City Planners.

Deputy editor-in-chief, Managing editor

ORCID: 0000-0002-3558-3969

PhD degree holder in legal sciences, assistant professor at the Department of Public Administration System of the Institute of Administrative Sciences at the Faculty of Law, Administration and Economics of the University of Wroclaw.

Academic Council

  • prof. dr hab. Barbara Adamiak
  • prof. dr hab. Teresa Dębowska-Romanowska
  • prof. dr hab. Bogdan Dolnicki
  • dr hab. Jan Jeżewski, prof. UWr
  • prof. dr hab. Leon Kieres
  • prof. dr hab. Zygmunt Niewiadomski
  • prof. dr hab. Stanisław Prutis
  • Joanna Regulska
  • prof. dr hab. Czesława Rudzka-Lorentz
  • prof. dr hab. Mirosław Stec
  • Jerzy Stępień
  • prof. dr hab. Andrzej Wasilewski
  • dr hab. Aleksandra Wiktorowska, prof. UW


The (peer) reviewers of "Samorząd Terytorialny" monthly for 2019 included the following persons:

  • dr hab. Monika Augustyniak, prof. KAAFM
  • prof. dr hab. Tomasz Bąkowski
  • dr hab. Paweł Borszowski, prof. UWr
  • dr hab. Jarosław Czerw, UJK
  • dr hab. Paweł Daniel, prof. SWPS
  • dr hab. Jarosław Dobkowski, prof. UWM
  • prof. dr hab. Bogdan Dolnicki
  • dr Magdalena Durzyńska
  • dr inż. Dariusz Felcenloben
  • dr Anna Fogel
  • dr Mirosław Gdesz
  • prof. dr hab. Jadwiga Glumińska-Pawlic
  • dr hab. Wojciech Gonet, prof. UPH
  • mec. Krzysztof Gruszecki
  • dr hab. Joanna Jagoda, prof. UŚ
  • dr Robert Kędziora
  • prof. dr hab. Dariusz R. Kijowski
  • dr hab. Elżbieta Klat-Górska, prof. UWr
  • dr hab. Zbigniew R. Kmiecik, prof. UMSC
  • dr Ryszard P. Krawczyk
  • dr hab. Katarzyna Małysa-Sulińska, prof. UJ
  • dr hab. Piotr Matczak, prof. UAM
  • prof. dr hab. Wiesława Miemiec
  • prof. dr hab. Zygmunt Niewiadomski
  • dr hab. Ewa Olejniczak-Szałowska, prof. UŁ
  • dr hab. Bogumił Pahl, prof. UWM
  • dr hab. Grażyna Piechota, prof. KAAFM
  • dr hab. Stefan Płażek
  • prof. dr hab. Grażyna Prawelska-Skrzypek
  • dr hab. Bogusław Przywora, prof. UJD
  • dr Krzysztof Radzikowski
  • prof. dr hab. Bartosz Rakoczy
  • prof. dr hab. Joanna Salachna
  • dr hab. Małgorzata Sieradzka, prof. UŁa
  • dr hab. Iwona Sierpowska, prof. SWPS
  • prof. dr hab. Iwona Skrzydło-Niżnik
  • prof. dr hab. Janusz Sługocki
  • prof. dr hab. Jacek Sobczak
  • prof. dr hab. Jerzy Supernat
  • dr hab. Robert Suwaj, prof. PW
  • prof. dr hab. Paweł Swianiewicz
  • prof. dr hab. Marek S. Szczepański
  • dr hab. Dawid Sześciło
  • prof. dr hab. Marek Szewczyk
  • dr Jakub Szlachetko
  • prof. dr hab. Andrzej Szromnik
  • dr hab. Przemysław Szustakiewicz, prof. UŁa
  • prof. dr hab. Marek Szydło
  • dr hab. Przemysław Śleszyński, prof. IGiPZ
  • dr hab. Anna Wierzbica, prof. UŚ
  • prof. dr hab. Elżbieta Ura
  • dr hab. Marcin Zawicki, prof. UEK
  • dr hab. Jakub J. Zięty, prof. UWM

Contact Us

Contact Us
For more information on the journal contact the Editorial Board
Wolters Kluwer Polska Sp. z o.o.
ul. Przyokopowa 33
01-208 Warszawa

e-mail: [email protected]
Order a subscription of Territorial Self-Government
Back To Top