Due to the intrinsically dangerous nature of the industry, private security companies are heavily regulated by both state and local licensing authorities. The most basic private security company license application generally requires a fee, training certification, fingerprints, proof of experience, a credit report, a surety bond, and/or a certificate of insurance. Further documentation may be required depending on whether the security guards will be armed or unarmed, uniformed or plain-clothed, stationary or patrol.
Many states with statewide private security regulations allow local jurisdictions to adopt their own regulations which are often more stringent. When private security companies are not regulated at the state level, they are almost always regulated, just as heavily, at the local level. Furthermore, your employees that will be providing security services (security guards) are likely to have individual licensing requirements to which they must adhere.
What type of experience does a security guard need in order to obtain a license?
Security Guard Licenses often have experience and education requirements. The specifics vary by jurisdiction. Sometimes either education or experience can be used to meet the threshold. Experience must often be documented by affidavits from a former employer or W2 proof of employment documentation. For education requirements, applicants must show certification or a diploma for the classes completed. Often specific state approved/issued training course must be attended by the applicant. See below for examples of experience and education requirements for Security Guard Licenses.
In West Virginia, the security guard license applicant must have:
- One year of verified, full time employment conducting security guard business or conducting the private investigation business working for a licensed firm; or
- One year of substantially equivalent training or experience
North Carolina requires applicants have “Three years of experience as a manager, supervisor, or administrator with a contract security company, a proprietary security organization or law enforcement agency performing a guard and patrol function.
In Tennessee, no prior experience is required; however applicants must complete a 4 hour training course and pass an exam based on the course.
CT Corporation will help individuals determine if they have the proper experience and training to obtain a security guard license. We provide comprehensive research regarding your licensing requirements, and we prepare error-free application packets, minimizing time-consuming and costly delays. For additional help please contact CT Corporation to consult a licensing specialist.
How do I obtain a Reinsurance Brokerage License?
In order to obtain a Reinsurance Brokerage (or Reinsurance Intermediary Broker) license an applicant must generally: (1) Complete a NAIC Uniform Individual Application to be registered with the National Insurance Producer Registry; and (2) Pay both the state license application and state license fee. For non-resident applicants, a certification from their home state is often required as well. However, different states have requirements that vary depending upon their respective jurisdiction.
Some states have simplistic requirements. In Massachusetts an applicant must: (1) Complete an application form; and (2) Write a check made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Division of Insurance, in the amount of $200.00. For non-resident applicants, a Certificate of Good Standing from your home state indicating you are licensed in good standing as a reinsurance broker is required as well. In Florida, an applicant must: (1) Complete an application for the license and submit appropriate fees. In addition, the applicant must be fingerprinted. Each person applying for the first time in Florida and qualifying for a license as a reinsurance broker shall attach a full detailed credit and character report for the 5-year period immediately prior to the date of application.
Some states have stringent requirements. In Georgia, applicants need to file a Certification Application for Certified Reinsurer. The applicant must be domiciled and licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance in what is called a "Qualified Jurisdiction." A qualified jurisdiction is a jurisdiction that is 1) an accredited jurisdiction in accordance with the NAIC financial and standards accreditation program; 2) qualified by the Commissioner as a qualified jurisdiction in accordance with the standards set forth in Ga. Reg. § 120-2-78-.08(3)(b); or 3) is a jurisdiction that is designated as a qualified jurisdiction by the Reinsurance Task Force, or working group thereof, and published through the NAIC Committee Process. The application fee is $600 for the initial application, and $700 for an annual renewal. There is a litany of additional requirements for licensure as well.
We will help you obtain all the licenses your reinsurance company needs. Our license experts will compile all applications for you and provided detailed instructions on how to apply and the fees associated with each application. CT Corporation can complete all applications for you and streamline the process. Please contact CT Corporation to consult a licensing specialist.
What is a business license?A business license is an approval or permit issued by a government agency that authorizes a business to operate within a specific jurisdiction. This license is often an additional requirement beyond the registration of a business at the state level. Whether a business is required to have a specific license depends on such factors as the nature of the business, types of products sold, and location.
How often do business licenses renew?Businesses are often reliant upon their own compliance tracking to stay on top of renewals. While the licensing jurisdiction may send a renewal notice, entities should not rely on this reminder method. CT Corporation has developed a Client License Information Center, CLiC, to help manage the renewal process and avoid delinquent charges and fines.
How long are business licenses valid?The term of a license is entirely dependent on the type of license. Some licenses are good for the life of the business while others must be renewed annually or every two years. However, laws can change frequently so businesses must stay abreast of changes that affect the term of their license.
What is a sales tax ID?Although Sales and Use Tax registrations would seem to be the most basic of business license filings, the requirements can vary from state to state, county to county and sometimes even by municipality. These applications can be confusing and time consuming. Contact CT Corporation for assistance.
What is an EIN?An EIN is a unique nine digit number assigned by the IRS is used to identify business entities and is also known by other names such as 'Federal Tax Identification Number' and 'Tax Identification Number (TIN)'.